Eric Church and Chris Stapleton Lead CMA Awards Nominations


 |  | By 


Courtesy of WENN Newsdesk

Eric Church, Chris Stapleton and Maren Morris lead the Country Music Association (CMA) Awards with five nominations each.

The trio emerged as frontrunners of the annual country music ceremony when the first wave of nominations were read out by Dierks Bentley, Cam and Keith Urban from the famed Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville, Tennessee on Good Morning America while the rest were announced online.


Bentley, Urban and Carrie Underwood came closely behind with four nods and Tim McGraw followed with three mentions. All three men will compete for the Male Vocalist prize alongside Church and Stapleton, while Carrie was nominated for the female equivalent with Kelsea Ballerini, Miranda Lambert, newcomer Morris, and Kacey Musgraves.

The Entertainer of the Year trophy is between Stapleton, Garth Brooks, Luke Bryan, Underwood, and Urban while Vocal Group of the Year is a battle between acts Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, Old Dominion, Rascal Flatts, and Zac Brown Band.

Stapleton continues his nominations streak with a nod for Single of the Year for “Nobody to Blame,” and his competitors include “Die a Happy Man” by Thomas Rhett, McGraw’s “Humble and Kind,” “My Church” by Maren Morris, and “Record Year” by Eric Church.

The coveted Album of the Year prize will be fought between Bentley (Black), Morris (Hero), Eric Church (Mr. Misunderstood), Keith Urban (Ripcord) and Carrie Underwood (Storyteller).

The 50th CMA Awards will be hosted by Underwood and Brad Paisley for the ninth year in a row from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena on November 2.

The main list of nominees are as follows:

Entertainer of the Year:

Garth Brooks

Luke Bryan

Chris Stapleton

Carrie Underwood

Keith Urban

Single of the Year:

“Die a Happy Man” – Thomas Rhett

“Humble and Kind” – Tim McGraw

“My Church” – Maren Morris

“Nobody to Blame” – Chris Stapleton

“Record Year” – Eric Church

Album of the Year:

Black – Dierks Bentley

Hero – Maren Morris

Mr. Misunderstood – Eric Church

Ripcord – Keith Urban

Storyteller – Carrie Underwood

Female Vocalist of the Year:

Kelsea Ballerini

Miranda Lambert

Maren Morris

Kacey Musgraves

Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year:

Dierks Bentley

Eric Church

Tim McGraw

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

Vocal Group of the Year:

Lady Antebellum

Little Big Town

Old Dominion

Rascal Flatts

Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year:

Brothers Osborne

Dan + Shay

Florida Georgia Line

Joey + Rory

Maddie & Tae

Musical Event of the Year:

Different For Girls – Dierks Bentley featuring Elle King

Home Alone Tonight – Luke Bryan featuring Karen Fairchild

The Fighter – Keith Urban featuring Carrie Underwood

Think of You – Chris Young (duet with Cassadee Pope)

You Are My Sunshine – Morgane Stapleton with Chris Stapleton

Music Video of the Year:

“Burning House” – Cam

“Fire Away” – Chris Stapleton

“Humble and Kind” – Tim McGraw

“Record Year” – Eric Church

“Somewhere On A Beach” – Dierks Bentley

New Artist of the Year:

Kelsea Ballerini

Brothers Osborne

Maren Morris

Old Dominion

Cole Swindell


Share This Story On Facebook