Diana Ross & Bruce Springsteen Lead List of 2016 Medal of Freedom Recipients


 |  | By 


Diana Ross, Bruce Springsteen, Robert De Niro, and Tom Hanks will be among the stars honored with the Presidential Medal of Freedom at a White House ceremony later this month.


The 21 recipients of this year’s accolade – America’s highest civilian honor – also include Robert Redford, comedienne and talk show host Ellen DeGeneres, architect Frank Gehry, Cicely Tyson and retired basketball greats Michael Jordan and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.

“The Presidential Medal of Freedom is not just our highest civilian honor, it’s a tribute to the idea that all of us, no matter where we come from, have the opportunity to change this country for the better,” President Barack Obama said while announcing this year’s list of recipients on Wednesday. “From scientists, philanthropists and public servants to activists, athletes and artists, these 21 individuals have helped push America forward, inspiring millions of people around the world along the way.”

The final Medal of Freedom ceremony Obama will conduct will be held at the White House on November 22.

Last year’s recipients included Barbra Streisand, Steven Spielberg, Gloria and Emilio Estefan, singer James Taylor, composer Stephen Sondheim, violinist Itzhak Perlman, and baseball legends Willie Mays and Yogi Berra, among others.


Share This Story On Facebook